The Plug & Light Principle

Plug & Light is the first socket that unites light control and power supply. Combined with suitable luminaires, Plug & Light guarantees reliable, effective and easy-to-control interior lighting. Flicker-free, from dim to warm-dim. Plug & Light fits into all standard wall boxes commercially available in European countries. The system not only redefines the way interior lighting is controlled – it also introduces a totally new way of handling the corresponding luminaires: they are docked to the socket with a magnet. Once fitted, each luminaire can be smoothly rotated through 360° and can even be exchanged during operation.

Turned through 180°, the floodlight that brightly illuminates a kitchen worktop for chopping foodstuffs creates a pleasant, indirect light for enjoying an aperitif or dinner. With the flick of a hand and a different luminaire, a perfectly lit worktable becomes an intimate dinner table. Rotated into the right position, the wall-mounted spotlight illuminating the ceiling of a hotel room is transformed into a night-time reading lamp.

With Plug & Light, Insta – in collaboration with Gira and Jung – is paving the way towards a new world of innovative lighting. Offering flexibility in planning and simple and safe installation, with Plug & Light interior lighting has been redefined and is now to control. Plug & Light is an open system, inviting other manufacturers of luminaires and building automation systems to reimagine light and participate in designing the future.

Four matching light fittings round off the Plug & Light portfolio by Insta: spot, floodlight, pendant luminaire and light machine allow for many different lighting scenarios. Insta’s parent companies, Gira and Jung, offer the technology in a selection of their switch designs. Luminaire manufacturer Brumberg has developed first decorative product lines for Plug & Light.

Who is Plug & Light for?

Architects

use Plug & Light to develop versatile lighting designs: Plug & Light allows maximum freedom in planning and reliable functionality in lighting design with matching switches. Only the sockets and switches for the future light sources have to be planned during the construction process. The suitable design and the desired luminaires can be selected towards the end or after the completion of construction. Replacing existing Plug & Light luminaires with different designs is possible at any time. Plug & Light is the perfect system for the luxury residential market, for discerning home owners or for the hospitality industry. Also available: a protection against dismantling.

Electricians

use Plug & Light to develop versatile lighting designs: Plug & Light fits into all standard wall boxes commercially available in European countries. Via its gold-plated connectors, Plug & Light delivers a maximum output of 8 watts. On top of that, the open system is extremely versatile, communicates directly with the docked luminaire, adapting to its capacity. The light is dimmed frequency-free – and hence flicker-free. Plug & Light is ready for immediate use: initialisation or parameter-setting are not necessary.

Home owners

experience versatile lighting design with Plug & Light: the function of a room and the corresponding lighting become versatile. For guaranteed flicker-free and dimmable light. And for a consistent interior design vocabulary as switch and light design come from a single source. The luminaires are easy to install and, thanks to a magnetic system, exchanging them during operation is child’s play. With its safety extra-low voltage (12V), Plug & Light is childproof.

Plug & Light Partners

Developed by Insta: as the inventor, developer and producer of Plug & Light, Insta is paving the way towards a new world of innovative interior lighting. Insta has already developed four different luminaires for the system: a floodlight, a spotlight, a pendant and a light machine.

Featured by Gira and Jung: as Insta’s parent companies, Gira and Jung support the development and market introduction of Plug & Light, and facilitate a new kind of lighting design by providing the matching switches. Gira has integrated the open Plug & Light system into its System 55 switch platform and offers the light plug, floodlight and spot in the Gira E2 and the Gira Esprit product ranges, among others. Jung has implemented the light plug, floodlight and spot in its LS 990 and A creation switch designs.

Brumberg is our first member: a specialist in high-end lighting technology, as Plug & Light partner, Brumberg has developed five decorative lighting product lines, each of which including a ceiling, wall and pendant luminaire.

Manufacturers of switches and building automation systems are invited to become Plug & Light partners and to include the open system in their portfolios. Let’s design a new generation of lighting concepts together!

Newsletter & Contact

You want to reimagine light and participate in designing the future of interior lighting?
Subscribe to our enlightening Plug & Light newsletter!







Are you interested in Plug & Light and would like to know more? We’ll be more than happy to talk to you:



Insta GmbH
Hohe Steinert 10
58509 Lüdenscheid




phone +49 2351 936-0

Prinzip Plug & Light

Plug & Light ist die erste Lichtsteckdose. Kombiniert mit seinen LED-Lichtaufsätzen garantiert das System funktionssicheres und einfach steuerbares Licht im Innenraum. Flackerfrei, von einfarbig Dimmen bei einer Farbtemperatur von 2700 K bis Warmdim (2700 K – 4000 K). Plug & Light passt in jede handelsübliche europäische Schalterdose und gestaltet neben der Steuerung auch den Umgang mit den zugehörigen Lichtaufsätzen neu: sie werden über einen Magneten an die Lichtsteckdose angedockt. Einmal eingesetzt, ist jede Leuchte anschlaglos um 360° drehbar und sogar in Betrieb austauschbar.

Der Fluter, der die Küchenarbeitsfläche für Schneidearbeiten hell ausleuchtet, schafft – um 180° gedreht – ein angenehmes, indirektes Licht für einen Aperitif oder ein gemeinsames Essen. Ein perfekt ausgeleuchteter Arbeitstisch wird mit einem Handgriff und dem Wechsel von Strahler zu Pendelleuchte zum gemütlichen Esstisch. Der Deckenstrahler an der Wand eines Hotelzimmers wird – in die passende Position gedreht – in den Abendstunden zur Leselampe.

In Kooperation mit Gira und Jung bereitet Insta mit Plug & Light den Weg in eine neue Welt der Lichtgestaltung. Flexibel bei der Planung, einfach und sicher installiert, wird Licht im Innenraum neu definiert und seine Steuerung wunderbar einfach. Plug & Light ist ein offenes System und ein Angebot an weitere Leuchten- und Gebäudesystemhersteller, Licht neu zu denken und die Zukunft mitzugestalten.

Vier passende Lichtaufsätze komplettieren das Plug & Light-Portfolio von Insta – Strahler, Fluter, Pendel und Lichtmaschine ermöglichen zahlreiche Lichtszenarien. Die Insta-Mutterfirmen Gira und Jung bieten die Technologie in einer Auswahl ihrer Schalterdesigns an. Der Leuchtenhersteller Brumberg hat erste dekorative Lichtserien für Plug & Light entwickelt.

Für wen ist Plug & Light?

Architekten

planen mit Plug & Light flexible Lichtgestaltung: Plug & Light bedeutet maximale Flexibilität bei der Planung. Für funktionssichere Lichtgestaltung, passend im Schalterdesign. Lediglich die Position der Steckdosen und Schalter für die künftigen Lichtquellen sind während des Bauprozesses zu planen. Das passende Design sowie die gewünschten Lichtaufsätze können am Ende oder nach Fertigstellung entschieden werden – der Einsatz neuer Plug & Light-Leuchten ist jederzeit möglich. Im gehobenen Wohnungsbau, für anspruchsvolle Eigentümer sowie im Hospitality-Bereich. Eine mechanische Verriegelung gewährt Demontageschutz.

Elektroinstallateure

schaffen mit Plug & Light flexible Lichtgestaltung: Die Lichtsteckdose passt in jede handelsübliche europäische Schalterdose. Über vergoldete Kontakte liefert Plug & Light eine maximale Leistung von 8 Watt. Das offene System ist dabei extrem flexibel, kommuniziert direkt mit dem angedockten Lichtaufsatz und stellt sich auf dessen Fähigkeiten ein. Das Licht wird frequenz- und somit flackerfrei gedimmt. Plug & Light ist sofort einsatzbereit, eine Inbetriebnahme oder Parametrierung ist nicht nötig.

Eigentümer

erleben mit Plug & Light flexible Lichtgestaltung: Mit Plug & Light wird die Funktion eines Raumes sowie die passende Raumbeleuchtung flexibel. Für garantiert flackerfrei dimmbares Licht. Und ein abgestimmtes Interieur, denn Schalter- und Lichtdesign kommen aus einer Hand. Die Leuchten sind einfach zu montieren und dank Magnetsystem spielend leicht austauschbar. Durch eine 12V Sicherheitskleinspannung ist Plug & Light kindersicher.

Plug & Light Partner

Als Erfinder, Entwickler und Produzent ebnet Insta mit Plug & Light den Weg in eine neue Welt der Innenraumbeleuchtung. Vier Lichtaufsätze hat Insta bereits entwickelt: einen Fluter, einen Strahler, eine Pendelleuchte sowie eine Lichtmaschine.

Als Insta-Mutterfirmen unterstützen Gira und Jung die Entwicklung und Etablierung von Plug & Light und ermöglichen eine neue Art der Lichtgestaltung im passenden Schalterdesign. Gira integriert das offene System Plug & Light in die Schalterplattform System 55 und bietet die Lichtsteckdose, Fluter und Strahler unter anderem in den Schalterprogrammen Gira E2 und Gira Esprit an. Jung setzt die Lichtsteckdose, Fluter und Strahler in seinen Schalterversionen LS 990 und A creation um.  



Brumberg ist unser erstes Mitglied: der Spezialist hochwertiger Beleuchtungstechnik hat als Plug & Light-Partner fünf dekorative Lichtserien entwickelt. Alle Serien bestehen jeweils aus einer Decken-, Wand- und Pendelleuchte.

Weitere Leuchten-, Schalter- und Gebäudesystemhersteller können Plug & Light-Partner werden und eigene Leuchten und Schalter für das offene System auf den Markt bringen. Damit werden Sie Teil einer gemeinsamen Lichtgestaltung der neuen Generation.

Newsletter & Kontakt

Sie möchten Licht neu denken und die Zukunft der Innenraumbeleuchtung mit gestalten?
Dann abonnieren Sie den erhellenden Plug & Light-Newsletter.







Sie interessieren sich für Plug & Light und möchten mit uns in Kontakt treten?
Jederzeit gerne:



Insta GmbH
Hohe Steinert 10
58509 Lüdenscheid




Fon +49 2351 936-0